

Governing Council Officers

Diana Bennett

2015-2016

Dani Behonick Chair District

District Academic Senate Website

SMCCCD District Academic Senate Minutes 5/16/16

2:00 pm – 4:00pm **CSM 10-160**

Meetings of Governing Council are open to all members of the campus community.

Item/Topic	Present	er Ti me	Details Procedure/Discussion/Information	tion /Action
Call to Order	President	1	Time: Timekeeper: Laderman Recorder: Browne	Procedure
Introductions	President	1	Members present: Bennett, Laderman, Behonick, Harmon, Hirzel Members absent: Fredricks Guests: Shaw	Procedure
Adoption of Agenda: 5/16/16	President	2	M: Behonick S: Harmon	ACTION
Approval of Minutes: 04/8/16	President	2	M: Hirzel S: Laderman	ACTION
Public Comm	ent			
Non Agenda Ito	ems Publi	С	3 minutes per speaker on Non Agenda Items	Information

Presentations				
			None	
Agenda Items				
Consent Agenda:				
approved by one mot the consent agenda,	ent agenda may ion after allow any member, ir	ing for intereste	nanimous vote of the SMCCCD District Academic Senate membe member questions about a particular item. Prior to a motion for ed student or citizen or member of the staff may request that ar , after approval of remaining items on the consent agenda.	approval of
Continuing Senate	Business:			
President's Update District Curriculum	Behonick	10	President's Update [1] New student trustee: Dennis Zheng, Skyline; [2] Trustee Mohr has returned to the Board. Thanks for Diana for her service as DAS President, officially ends in July, celebration with DAS will be scheduled for this summer. District Curriculum- [1] DCC has drafted a set of by-laws in parallel with local senates and DAS; constitution & by-laws will be ready for approval the beginning of 2016-17; [2] formalized [from CCCCO memo in Fall] calculation between units and hours created & vetted by all colleges and will go into revised Curr handbooks by Fall; [3] Fall flex days are being planned with Department cross-district meetings with agendas already set & time, preferably before 2 pm on Day 1. TO DO: inform Presidents and PD Chairs about this item, and Diana/Dani will work with District to get on agenda early to faculty. [4] All Faculty Curriculum meeting- District Opening Day; still looking for Guest Speaker; [5] CurricuNet Review Update-probably being done over the summer	Information Information /Discussion
Procedure Review	Laderman	5	 6.13.1 Curriculum Process- re-work of Procedure especially points 3 and 5. Following discussion, it was agreed that David will re-write and will be brought forward early Fall for local consideration. Discussion faculty responsibility: when Senate by-laws are revised, be sure that local authority re curr dvpt. 	Information /Discussion

Spring Electi	ons	Bennett	5	Election Results District Senate President 2016 – 2018: Leigh Anne Shaw is elected. Constitution and Bylaws- approved	Information
Plenary Upd	ate	Bennett	5	Spring Plenary Update: Doug will send out a list of resolutions passes that have local senate implications.	Information
Senate Struc	cture	Shaw	10	PPT: Moving from Senate of a whole to representative senate. Discussion of slides included revisions for final PPT Diana will send as DAS President before end of term for information/education; will be announced in DAS President letter and Opening Day; DAS will conduct the election such that each voter will branch to the appropriate college after the first Academic Senate meeting.	Information /Discussion
Policy Review		ALL		Review: 6.18, 6.20, 6.24, 6.39, 6.45, 6.50, 6.60, 6.90- Discuss all with Local Senates the beginning of the Fall. NEW Policy 6.27 Distance Education: draft can be worked on in the fall; Laderman reported AFT concerns regarding OEI rubric to not be about faculty evaluation. 6.27.1 & 6.27.2 are procedures that are guidelines. Suggestion is for AFT to offer language in early Fall. Current practice is that Instructional Designers/technologists and DE coordinators will be evaluating DE delivery.	Information /Discussion
Announce	ments				
Next Meeting	9/12	9/12/16		District ASGC Sept 12, 2016	Information
Adjourn	Pre	President		M: Laderman S: Hirzel	ACTION