

BUDGET COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Wednesday, March 2, 2011

2:00 p.m. – Building 3, Room 142

Members present: Parvaneh Darafshi, Lucy Nolasco, Vickie Nunes, Martin Partlan, Robin Richards, Joan Rosario, Sarah Perkins, Tristan Sheldon,

Elizabeth Terzakis

Ex-Officio: Thomas Mohr – President, Robert Hood Members absent: Maria Lara-Blanco, Gregory Stoup

Guests: Roberta Chock, Linda Hayes, David Johnson, Debbie Joy, Monica Malamud, David Meckler, Stringer, Dave Vigo

| | AGENDA ITEM | PRESENTER | TIME |
|------------|--|--|--|
| | APPROVAL OF MINUTES | The minutes were approved by consensus. | Martin Partlan, Budget Committee Co-Chair |
| 2) P | PUBLIC COMMENTS | None | Martin Partlan, Budget Committee Co-Chair |
| 3) B I. | BUSINESS Budget Update | An update from the CCLC Budget Advocacy Action Center was given that included: The formation of a "Taxpayers Caucus" by 30 legislative Republicans Budget committees from both houses adopted modified versions of the governor's January 20 budget proposal, including \$290-293 million in net cuts to community colleges, which would be allocated as a workload reduction, and the fee increases from \$26 to \$36 a unit effective Fall 2011 CCLC released updated projections of the impact on districts of each of the three scenarios under discussion. | Thomas C. Mohr, President |
| II. | Aspects of New Allocation Model | Reported that SMCCCD Chief Financial Officer Kathy Blackwood has developed an allocation model based upon certain ratio of FTES focusing on the number of counselors needed at each college based on the number of new and continuing students. Discussion followed. | Thomas C. Mohr, President Vickie Nunes, College Business Officer |
| III. | Costs of Full Time Faculty vs. Part Time Faculty | A review of salary costs and benefits for full-time and part-time faculty was presented showing an average cost difference between the two of \$49,043. | Vickie Nunes, College Business Officer |
| 4) A | ADJOURNMENT | The meeting was adjourned at 2:45 p.m. | Martin Partlan, Budget Committee Co-Chair |