Cañada College Academic Senate Governing Council

Minutes of February 12, 2008

Building 3, Room 104, 2:00 – 4:00 pm

ASGC members present: Martin Partlan, David Clay, David Patterson, Monica Malamud, Doug Hirzel, David Meckler, Kathy Sammut, Ana Miladinova, Denise Erickson.

Senate members: Patty Dilko

Guests: Tom Mohr

- 1. Call to order: 2:09 p.m.
- 2. Adoption of the Agenda

Motion to move **7.3. College 40th celebration** up to just after Public Comment. Seconded/approved unanimously.

3. Approval of Minutes of January 22nd, 2008

Moved/seconded/approved, with one abstention.

4. Public Comment

We are off warning for Accreditation, but the district-wide recommendations still need to be addressed by October.

7.3. College 40th celebration

Story about the 40th anniversary will be posted on Cañada's homepage. Students' Spring Fling T-shirts will have the 40th anniversary logo. PDF file with logo will be available so that everyone can include them in written materials. T-shirts will be distributed for faculty to wear on "Spirit Mondays". Patty, on behalf of the 4th anniversary committee, requests a contribution of \$2500 from Academic Senate to purchase T-shirts for full-time faculty and all classified staff.

Academic Senate Governing Council – 2008-2009

President: Martin Partlan (x3355); Vice President: David Clay (x3379); Secretary: Monica Malamud (x3442); Treasurer: David Patterson (x3476);
Humanities and Social Sciences Division Rep: David Meckler (x3439); Business, Workforce and Athletics Division Rep: Ana Miladinova (x3147);
Science and Technology Division Rep: Doug Hirzel (x3284); Student Services Rep: Karen Olesen (x3415) / Kathy Sammut (x3447);
Curriculum Committee Chair: Sharon Finn (x3450); Professional Personnel Chair: Denise Erickson (x3352); College Council Liaison: Ron Trugman.

5. Committee reports

5.1. Curriculum:

No report.

5.2. College Budget Committee:

CBC began writing the by-laws for its new structure. CBC will start looking at the budget. Janet Stringer will present on HSI grant at the next CBC meeting and Vicky Nunes will present on the BSI grant at the following meeting. There will be an update on the college reorganization at next week's meeting.

5.3. College Planning Council:

There was no quorum last week (all faculty reps were present). President Mohr will give an update on what he is inclined to do with regards to the college reorganization at next week's meeting, and it will be recorded, so that those who cannot be present will be able to watch it at a later time.

5.4.AFT:

The faculty contract will expire at the end of this year, so this spring we'll be going into negotiations. Prior to starting negotiations, faculty will be surveyed on their priorities. The AFT will discuss the budget situation and how it affects our district.

5.5. Professional Personal:

The professional development coordinator position was eliminated in the last round of budget cuts. Deadline for Long-term proposals for professional development is **March 1**st now.

5.6. Finance

No report. Agenda item for next meeting: look at Academic Senate budget, and include the request to fund T-shirts (see 7.3) in the discussion.

6. Old Business

6.1.Committee Appointments:

President Mohr has selected Romeo Garcia, Alicia Aguirre, Linda Haley and Kathy Sammut as faculty reps on the VPSS hiring committee.

6.2. Class size resolution update:

It's moving forward through the senates. At the district level, our earlier suggestions were incorporated and the new version has been sent to CSM and Skyline.

6.3. Student Equity Plan:

Academic Senate Governing Council – 2008-2009

President: Martin Partlan (x3355); Vice President: David Clay (x3379) ; Secretary: Monica Malamud (x3442); Treasurer: David Patterson (x3476); Humanities and Social Sciences Division Rep: David Meckler (x3439); Business, Workforce and Athletics Division Rep: Ana Miladinova (x3147); Science and Technology Division Rep: Doug Hirzel (x3284); Student Services Rep: Karen Olesen (x3415) / Kathy Sammut (x3447); Curriculum Committee Chair: Sharon Finn (x3450); Professional Personnel Chair: Denise Erickson (x3352); College Council Liaison: Ron Trugman. Dave C. suggested that the college form an Equity Committee as part of the new college structures, so that it can be linked to the new planning structures. Phillip Maynard (Mt. San Antonio CC), from state senate, can be invited to do a presentation on Diversity and Equity on Flex Day; Academic Senate may be asked to help fund his travel expenses. Tom Mohr suggested that there be a district-wide Equity Committee too. At the Spring Plenary of the Academic Senate there will be two breakout sessions on diversity and equity.

6.4. Drafting Rule Changes -- Chapter 6:

6.17. Course Repetition: will be forwarded to Dean Raby to address the case of students receiving a "W" grade.

6.18. Credit by Examination: add language taken from the catalog regarding faculty availability. Does credit by examination affect articulation?

7. New Business

7.1. Faculty Hiring Procedures

There are two documents related to faculty hiring: the district procedures for hiring full-time faculty (see District Portal, Downloads) and there is the college process for recommending new tenure-track hires to the president (see Inside Cañada). ASGC had a lengthy discussion on the hiring procedures with regard to the new planning structures of the college.

8. Matters of Council Interest

Dave C. suggested that Cañada explore the possibility of developing a Sustainability Program.

Academic Integrity Policy needs to be updated.

March in March will be on March 16th this year.

Meeting adjourned: 4:15 p.m.

Academic Senate Governing Council – 2008-2009

President: Martin Partlan (x3355); Vice President: David Clay (x3379); Secretary: Monica Malamud (x3442); Treasurer: David Patterson (x3476);
Humanities and Social Sciences Division Rep: David Meckler (x3439); Business, Workforce and Athletics Division Rep: Ana Miladinova (x3147);
Science and Technology Division Rep: Doug Hirzel (x3284); Student Services Rep: Karen Olesen (x3415) / Kathy Sammut (x3447);
Curriculum Committee Chair: Sharon Finn (x3450); Professional Personnel Chair: Denise Erickson (x3352); College Council Liaison: Ron Trugman.