# Cañada College Accreditation News fall 2006

**Greetings!** As many of you know, members of the Cañada community that you see everyday—check out the honor roll on page two—are using their elbow grease to prepare the College's Institutional Self-Study, due this May, to renew its accreditation. Here are highlights of activities integral to their vital work:

## **Accreditation Powwow and Timeline**

Reflecting the importance of accreditation, the College will hold an Accreditation Powwow, a series of meetings focused on advancing the accreditation effort, from October 18–20. All possible non-accreditation meetings on campus will be cancelled.

By October 30 full drafts of the standard reports will be submitted to the Steering Committee Co-Chairs for review, and, after revisions, a complete draft of the Self-Study will be posted for feedback by the SMCCCD Board of Trustees, personnel at the District Chancellor's Office, students, classified staff, faculty, and administrators.

# **Satisfaction Surveys**

The College administered the Noel-Levitz Student Survey and a locally developed Staff Satisfaction survey to measure how well Cañada is meeting the needs of its constituents. Completed surveys were returned by Friday, September 29. Results will yield data essential for addressing accreditation themes, including institutional commitment; dialogue; evaluation, planning, and improvement; institutional integrity; organization; and Student Learning Outcomes.

## **Student Learning Outcomes**

Student Learning Outcomes are a new and important theme of the accreditation process. Faculty are working to identify SLOs and accompanying assessment techniques. To get up to speed on SLOs, attend the Introduction to Student Learning Outcomes Workshop on Tuesday, October 3 from 1:30-3:30 p.m. in room 2-10. Contact Ray Lapuz to register at x3290 or lapuz@smccd.edu.

# october S M T W T F S 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 november

S	М	Т	W	Т	F	S
			1	2	3	4
5	6	7	8	9	10	11
12	13	14	15	16	17	18
19	20	21	22	23	24	25
26	27	28	29	30		

				december			
S	М	Т	W	Т	F	S	
					1	2	
3	4	5	6	7	8	9	
10	11	12	13	14	15	16	
17	18	19	20	21	22	23	
24	25	26	27	28	29	30	
21							

- Accreditation / SLO dates
- Thanksgiving
- Winter Break

# Accreditation Honor Roll

# Accreditation Steering Committee Members 2005-2007

Alicia Aguirre (Faculty, Accreditation Co-Chair)

Margie Carrington (Classified Senate President)

Jenny Castello (Curriculum Committee Chair)

Roberta Chock (Webmaster)

Patty Dilko (Academic Senate President)

Rich Follansbee (Faculty)

Theodore Fowler (Adjunct Faculty, Accreditation Editor)

Jeanne Gross (Dean, University Center and Academic Support

Linda Hayes (Dean, Business and Workforce Development)

Doug Hirzel (Faculty)

Ray Lapuz (Student Learning Outcomes Coordinator)

Monica Malamud (Faculty)

Marilyn McBride (Vice President, Instruction, Accreditation Co-Chair)

Victoria O'Donnell (Dean, Science & Technology)

Patricia Pickett-Wilder (Associated Students of Cañada Senator)

Melissa Raby (Dean, Counseling and Enrollment Services)

Anniqua Rana (Faculty)

Paul Roscelli (Faculty)

Katie Townsend-Merino (Dean, Humanities)

Bart Scott (College Researcher)

Terry Watson (Classified Senate Vice President)

Monica Malamud (Faculty) served through spring 2006

# Standard 1: Institutional Mission and Effectiveness

### 1. Mission

### 2. Improving Institutional Effectiveness

Rich Follansbee, Co-Chair

Jeanne Gross, Co-Chair

Amelito Enriquez

Jamie Barrajan (student)

Sharon Finn

Evan Innerst

Carolyn Jung

Anne Nicholls

Rita Sabbadini

Bart Scott

Elizabeth Terzakis - Theme Captain

Standard 1: membership ended:

Veronica Espinoza (served through spring 2006)

# Standard 2: Student Learning Programs and Services

- 1. Instructional Programs
- 2. Student Support Services
- 3. Library and Learning Support Services

Melissa Raby, Co-Chair (2 and Organization Theme)

Anniqua Rana, Co-Chair (1 and Dialogue Theme)

Margie Carrington (2 and Student Learning Outcomes Theme)

Lyn Belingheri (2)

Regina Blok (3)

Kelly Givner (1)

Robert Haick (2)

Jacqulyn Holley (2)

Maria Lara (1 and 2)

Jeanie Mecorney (1)

Jeannette Medina (1)

Ruth Miller (1 and Organization Theme)

Victoria O'Donnell (2)

Karen Olesen (2)

Gerardo Pacheco  $\,$  (3 and Evaluation Planning & Improvement

Theme)

Dave Patterson (3)

Jacqui Phillips (1and 3 plus Institutional Commitments Theme)

Byron Ramey (2)

Rita Sabbadini (3 and Evaluation Planning and Improvement

Theme)

Kathy Sammut (2)

Katie Schertle (1 and Institutional Integrity Theme)

Soraya Sohrabi (2)

Yolanda Valenzuela (3)

Lezlee Ware (3 and Institutional Integrity Theme)

Standard 2 Membership ended:

Susan Gangel Served through spring 2006

Lisa Palmer On maternity leave beginning fall 2006

Paul Roscelli Moved to Standard 4 fall 2006

Rebekah Taveau Served through spring 2006

Nancy Wolford served through spring 2006

### **Standard 3: Resources**

- 1. Human Resources
- 2. Physical Resources
- 3. Technology Resources
- 4. Financial Resources

Linda Hayes, Co-Chair

Doug Hirzel, Co-Chair

Kathy Blackwood, District Office

Ronda Chaney

Danny Glass

Chuck Iverson (3)

Vickie Nunes

Martin Partlan

Jack Preston

Romy Thiele

Susan Traynor (3) Mike Tyler (3)

Mike Sinkewitsch (3)

Terry Watson

### Standard 4: Leadership and Governance

- 1. Decision-Making Roles and Processes
- 2. Board and Administrative Organization

Katie Townsend-Merino, Co-Chair

Paul Roscelli, Co-Chair

Kevin Chappell

Patty Dilko (A1)

Debbie Joy (B2)

Phyllis Lucas-Woods (B1, B3)

Terry Watson

District: Sue Harrison (B3) Harry Joel (B1) Jung Luan

Standard 4 membership ended:

Monica Malamud served through spring 2006