# Cañada College Academic Senate Governing Council

# Minutes of September 24, 2009

Building 3, Room 104, 2:00 - 4:00 pm

**ASGC members present**: Martin Partlan, David Clay, David Patterson, Monica Malamud, Doug Hirzel, David Meckler, Karen Olesen, Ana Miladinova, Sharon Finn, Denise Erickson.

Senate members: Nancy Wolford

Guests: Tom Mohr, Peter Barbatis

1. Call to order: 2:07 p.m.

### 2. Adoption of the Agenda

Changed sequence of agenda: move 7.3 and 8.1 earlier, immediately following public comment.

Moved to approve as amended/seconded/approved unanimously.

### 3. Approval of Minutes of September 10 and 17, 2009

Moved/seconded/approved unanimously.

PIV document: adopted with corrected grammar.

#### 4. Public Comment

None.

### 7.3. PIV process further discussion & review of recommendations

Martin reviewed minutes of District Academic Senate of April 27, which outlined guiding principles for faculty engagement over the next four months (i.e., summer). Martin will send out an e-mail containing Cañada's adopted PIV process and the guiding principles for faculty engagement from the minutes of DASGC. (District Strategic Planning Committee is the Restructuring Council to which the guiding principles make reference.)

Kathy Blackwood says the district needs 15% budget reduction. She thinks she can come up with 5%, so she has asked the colleges to make budget reductions in the order of 10%. If half of the 10% at Cañada comes from instruction, this means offering about 50 fewer sections in each fall and spring. Can we

#### Academic Senate Governing Council – 2008-2009

President: Martin Partlan (x3355); Vice President: David Clay (x3379) ; Secretary: Monica Malamud (x3442); Treasurer: David Patterson (x3476); Humanities and Social Sciences Division Rep: David Meckler (x3439); Business, Workforce and Athletics Division Rep: Ana Miladinova (x3147); Science and Technology Division Rep: Doug Hirzel (x3284); Student Services Rep: Karen Olesen (x3415) / Kathy Sammut (x3447); Curriculum Committee Chair: Sharon Finn (x3450); Professional Personnel Chair: Denise Erickson (x3352). state that it is impossible to accomplish 10% reductions? We can, but it makes sense to do this only after going through the process of trying to make reductions and showing that it's not possible.

The AS will support programs going through the PIV process.

If programs are consolidated among campuses, this should be a financially neutral to the individual colleges.

## 8.1. General discussion of what general recommendations can be made

Suggestions:

- Discontinue Menlo Park facility?
- Not offer summer session as a district-wide decision?
- Consolidating administrative/bureaucratic functions?
- Can we go from three separate colleges to one college with three campuses?
- Outsourcing and consolidating duplication services?

- Since we already have more students that we can serve, can we reduce/eliminate our outreach and publicity budget?

- What if every district employee took a graduated pay-cut?
- Optimize class schedule such that not every class is offered every semester.

Request: that Ron Galatolo and/or Kathy Blackwood come and inform us what others around the district are doing in terms of 08-09 and 09-10 budget reductions.

### 8.2. The Role of the Academic Senate, a Review of the 10+1

Martin reviewed the role of the Academic Senate in decision-making within the district.

### 5. Committee reports:

### 5.1. College Planning Council, ICP, SSPC:

Agreed to not push for a reconfiguration of the CPC this year, but instead to try and improve communications in other ways.

### 5.2. AFT:

Coming up: 1) Budget forum September 29, 2-4 p.m. 2) Survey on experience with additional flex days.

Meeting adjourned: 4:20 p.m.

#### Academic Senate Governing Council – 2008-2009

President: Martin Partlan (x3355); Vice President: David Clay (x3379) ; Secretary: Monica Malamud (x3442); Treasurer: David Patterson (x3476); Humanities and Social Sciences Division Rep: David Meckler (x3439); Business, Workforce and Athletics Division Rep: Ana Miladinova (x3147); Science and Technology Division Rep: Doug Hirzel (x3284); Student Services Rep: Karen Olesen (x3415) / Kathy Sammut (x3447); Curriculum Committee Chair: Sharon Finn (x3450); Professional Personnel Chair: Denise Erickson (x3352).