Cañada College Academic Senate Governing Council

Minutes of January 22nd, 2009

Building 3, Room 104, 2:00 - 4:00 pm

ASGC members present: Martin Partlan, David Clay, David Patterson, Monica Malamud, David Meckler, Ana Miladinova, Sharon Finn, Denise Erickson.

Senate members: Patty Dilko.

Guests: Janet Stringer, Tom Mohr.

Call to order: 2:11 p.m.
Adoption of the Agenda

Moved/seconded/approved unanimously.

3. Approval of Minutes of December 11, 2008

Moved/seconded/approved unanimously.

4. Public Comment

None.

- 5. Committee reports
- 5.1. Curriculum:

No report. Jan 27 meeting has been cancelled. First meeting of the semester will be Feb. 10th. On February 9th, 11th, 17th (all 2:30-4:30) the Curriculum Committee will be reviewing three vendors for Curriculum Management Tool s; cost is high, and there is no certainty that this will be funded. Faculty are highly encouraged to participate in the review process. The last Curriculum Committee meeting to get changes into Fall catalog is the first meeting in March.

5.2. Planning and Budget:

Approved President Mohr's plan to remove the position of Dean of Student Support Services from organizational structure of the college.

Academic Senate Governing Council - 2008-2009

5.3. College Council

Approved College Planning structures.

5.4.AFT:

- Class sizes have been unilaterally increased at CSM recently, in violation of EERA.
- There is one grievance that will go to arbitration next week.
- The AFT is considering a counter-proposal for supporting the work of faculty through release time on the yet-to-be constituted Trust Committee.
- The Program Improvement Viability process is in progress at CSM for four programs; in the event that programs are discontinued, there is past practice in our district for re-training of affected full-time faculty.
- There was a discussion on SLOAC with respect to the position of WASC and accreditation.

5.5. Professional Personal:

No report. Reminder: March 15th deadline for Long Term proposals.

5.6. Finance

We have almost \$9000 in the credit union account, and \$2000 in our college account.

6. Old Business

6.1. Committee Appointments:

Ron Trugman and Patty Dilko volunteered as faculty reps on 40th anniversary celebration committee. Moved/seconded/ approved unanimously. Roberta Chock will be on it representing classified staff.

College Planning Council: Sarah Harmon, who was serving as the part-time rep to College Council, is willing to continue in the spring in the College Planning Council. Moved/seconded/approved unanimously. College Planning Council still needs a faculty member at large.

Instructional Planning Council: needs a counselor.

Student Services Program Planning Council: Denise Erickson volunteered to serve as the ASGC rep on this committee. Moved/seconded/approved unanimously.

Budget Committee: needs faculty member at large.

VPI screening committee: Lisa Palmer and Denise Erickson have been chosen by President Mohr to replace Frank Young and Jenny Castello, who cannot continue to serve on this committee.

Rules and Regs 6.32- Intellectual Property: District Senate would like to form a committee of four faculty members, with representation from the three colleges and AFT. David Mecker volunteered as the faculty rep from our college. Moved/seconded/approved unanimously.

6.2. Class Size Resolution

A joint AFT-Senate class size resolution has been in the works for a while. The AFT is interested in getting this resolution passed, especially in the light of the unilateral class size increases that recently occurred at CSM. Martin and David C. shared research on class size conducted in the UC system and at a few prestigious universities; most of this work has been done for developmental courses in English and ESL and it supports smaller class sizes for these courses. From a fiscal point of view, on the one hand it's more profitable to have larger classes; on the other hand, students in smaller classes get more individualized attention and are more likely to persist (and it is better to retain students than to have to recruit new students). The ASGC agrees with the need for this resolution and the general concept, but would like to see the last "resolve" reworded with respect to the AFT's involvement in the process.

6.3. Student Equity Plan Update:

There will be a meeting of the Ad-hoc Student Equity/Success Committee on Thursday, Jan. 29th, 1:30-3 in 3-104. This committee has been constituted to revise the Student Equity Plan. This semester the adhoc committee will survey student opinions on student access and diversity. The committee will also be evaluating student learning outcomes at the institutional level. President Mohr requested that the committee exercise caution in the evaluation process and take into account all the efforts that the college is undertaking with regards to diversity. Patty suggested that the committee contact the state senate office for resources, and that the process, while faculty-driven, include different segments of the college.

7. New Business

7.1. Proposal for Outstanding Educator Award

President Mohr suggested that the faculty delineate a process whereby outstanding faculty can be recognized. Monica argued that coming up with a process to judge faculty would be extremely difficult, and that faculty should all strive to be the best they can be, regardless of a recognition award; for these two reasons, she is opposed to this proposal. Sharon said that the best recognition she can get is the one that comes from her own students. Some ideas: recognize different aspects of teaching every year, make the award something that allows the faculty member to become an even better educator (such as going to the Great Teachers Seminar, release time to develop new courses, a stipend to be spent as chosen by the awardee).

Academic Senate Governing Council - 2008-2009

President: Martin Partlan (x3355); Vice President: David Clay (x3379); Secretary: Monica Malamud (x3442); Treasurer: David Patterson (x3476); Humanities and Social Sciences Division Rep: David Meckler (x3439); Business, Workforce and Athletics Division Rep: Ana Miladinova (x3147); Science and Technology Division Rep: Doug Hirzel (x3284); Student Services Rep: Karen Olesen (x3415) / Kathy Sammut (x3447); Curriculum Committee Chair: Sharon Finn (x3450); Professional Personnel Chair: Denise Erickson (x3352); College Council Liaison: Ron Trugman.

7.2. Spring Plenary

Martin encouraged faculty to attend. The plenary is April 16-18, in Burlingame.

7.3. Spring Agenda Building

There will be an ASGC election. Requested reports on Basic Skills, Accreditation, a discussion of the Program Review process.

8. Matters of Council Interest

Meeting adjourned: 4:09 p.m.