

# **Institutional Self-Evaluation Report**

# In Support of an Application for

## **Reaffirmation of Accreditation**



Submitted by

West Hills College Coalinga 300 W Cherry Lane, Coalinga, CA 93210

to

Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges Western Association of Schools and Colleges

### D. Organization of the Self-Evaluation Process

West Hills College Coalinga recognizes that accreditation is a continuous process of self-reflection and evaluation. The college believes that broad participation is important in this self-evaluation to ensure that constituency groups have input into the college's programs, services, and processes. The planning process for the completion of the self-evaluation report included broad participation from the constituency groups across campus. It is with the recognition that accreditation is a continuous process for self-evaluation, the college has a standing committee, Institutional Effectiveness and Accreditation Committee – IEAC charged with coordinating, leading, and facilitating accreditation efforts within the institution.

Through IEAC, accreditation subcommittees were formulated based on standards. The subcommittees were made up of representation from across the college. The broad representation was aimed at assuring perspective, input, and contributions were gathered from across the college. The broad participation also provided an opportunity for college team members to be involved and gain greater understanding of the accreditation standards, policies, requirements, and the self-evaluation process. Each subcommittee met, reviewed the standard, and worked to a) determine how the college met the standard, b) identify evidence pieces to demonstrates how the college met the standard, c) identify gaps, and d) determine improvement plans and actions. The college accreditation subcommittees are noted below.

### Accreditation Subcommittees

E 14 Trans	
Editing Team	
	Rob Skaggs
	Jill Bonds
Standard I	
I.A Mission	Chair/Co-Chair: B. Matos/J. Wanderer
I.B Academic Quality & Institutional	Ken Sowden, Faculty
Effectiveness	Atif El Naggar, Faculty
	Valeria Hochman Adler, Faculty
	San Juana Gonzalez, Classified
	Alicia Rocha, Classified
	Juan Rubio, Classified
	Jay Darnell, Management
	Justin Berna, Management
I.C Institutional Integrity	Chair/Co-Chair: J. Garcia/K. Wilds
	Scott Wilson, Faculty
	Mark Arce, Faculty
	Larry Parades, Faculty
	Gina Jason, Classified
	Cory Minter, Management
	Zach Soto, Management
Standard II	
II.A Instructional Programs	Chair/Co-Chair: A. Hanjiev/A. Pulido
	Staci Mosher, Faculty
	Mark Matteson, Faculty

	Jim Grant, Faculty
	Rhonda Mayer, Faculty
	Lynnette Mann, Faculty
	Chris Cheney, Faculty
	Emma Santos, Classified
	Dioselina Vasquez, Classified
	Terry Brase, Management
	Ashlin Mattos, Management
II.B Library and Learning Support Services	Chair/Co-Chair: M. Magnuson/M.
J 2 11	Delaney
	Annie Jorgens, Faculty
	Sheila Pappas, Classified
	Pilar Espinoza, Classified
	Catherine Ybarra, Classified
	Richard Aguilar, Management
II.C Student Support Services	Chair/Co-Chair: A.Tos/R. McGinnis
	Erin Corea, Faculty
	Trista Haggard, Faculty
	Maria Ceballos, Faculty
	Nick Andrews, Faculty
	Rica McGinnis, Faculty
	Ryan Smith, Faculty
	Norma Carpenter, Classified
	Maria Pimentel, Classified
	Domenica Sanchez, Classified
	Roz Toliver, Management
	Pedro Garcia, Management

Standard III	
III.A Human Resources	Chair/Co-Chair: J. Hash/District Rep
III.B Physical Resources	Rodolfo Rodriguez, Faculty
III.C Technical Resources	Sherry Barragan, Faculty
III.D Financial Resources	Genie Pratt, Faculty
	Kelly Rouska, Classified
	Patty Mendoza, Classified
	Juana Tapia, Classified
	Shaun Bailey, Management
	Octavio Cruz, Management
Standard IV	
IV.A Decision-Making Roles and Processes	Chair/Co-Chair: J. Cazares/S. Shepard
	Mark Gritton, Faculty
	Valerie Walker, Faculty
	Alex Selim, Faculty
	Maria Drappo, Classified
	Jennifer Zuniga, Classified
	April Betterson, Management

IV.B Chief Executive Officer	Chair/Co-Chair: College Pres/Senate
	Pres/CSEA Pres
	Brandy Wilds, Faculty
	Hector Dam-Mikkelsen, Faculty
	Patty Price, Classified
	Amy Martinez, Confidential/Management
IV.C Governing Board	Chair/Co-Chair: College Pres/J.
	Hash/District Rep
	Tim Ellsworth, Faculty
	Rodney Blaco, Faculty
	Lissette Padilla, Classified
IV.D Multi-College Districts or Systems	Chair/Co-Chair: College Pres/J.
	Hash/District Rep
	Ken Henry, Faculty
	Anna Lisa Little, Faculty
	Classified staff: n/a

#### Timeline:

Through IEAC, a timeline for the College's institutional self-evaluation timeline was established to guide the process in completing the report.

- o Fall 2021
  - Organization of accreditation subcommittees
  - o Training with ACCJC
- o Spring 2022
  - o General information/training session with college staff, faculty, managers
  - Review standards, gather evidence, identify gaps, determine areas of improvement.
  - o Report/update to college
- o Summer 2022
  - Initial draft of report
- o Fall 2022
  - o Continue to review evidence gathered, gaps, and areas of improvement.
  - o Address gaps/deficiencies and determine plans for going forward.
  - Follow up training with ACCJC
  - o Review/revise report
  - o Continuous report/update to college
- o Spring 2023
  - o Continuous report/update to college
  - o Continue to review/revise report.
  - o Share/discuss with Academic Senate, Student Government, College Council
  - o First read with the Board of Trustees
- o Summer 2023
  - o Finalize report.
  - Second read/approval by Board of Trustees