

## Organization of the Self-Evaluation Process

After the last ISER and site visit were completed in 2013, the College created two new positions to help respond to the recommendations and keep accreditation at the forefront of college discussionions and planning. The two faculty "Deputy Accreditation Liaison Officers" (ALOs) were directly involved in helping the College establish a more rigorous culture of assessment, respond to annual and mid-term reports, and ensure the college community was informed of best practices of institutional effectiveness. In 2017, the Vice President of Instruction and ALO retired suddenly. In order to maintain consistency, the Dean of Planning, Research, and Resource Development was appointed ALO and worked with the Deputy ALOs and Interim Vice President of Instruction to outline a plan for writing, reviewing, and approving the ISER, as well as ensuring college awareness of the accreditation process (I12).

This plan was presented to participatory governance and adopted in April 2017 (I13). The initial team developed a steering committee that included the four Vice Presidents, employee Senate Presidents, and writing team leads. The writing team leads were selected based on subject matter expertise. The Associated Students of Sierra College President/Student Trustee was invited to participate, but neither Trustee in office during the writing was able to participate. The ASSC received regular reports, were invited to provide feedback on drafts, and the ASSC was invited to have representatives on the Standard IV writing team (I14). The writing teams were selected by the Writing Team leads based on expertise, such as the Articulation Officer, or based on interest, as solicited by the Academic Senate. Once selected, the writing teams were given a training on the Standards, writing the ISER, and an introduction the Appreciative Inquiry Framework (I15, I16, I17, I18, I19).

The writing teams were asked to conduct a preliminary review of the Standards and identify any areas for work that may function as Quality Focus Essay topics. Several topics were identified and the Steering Committee selected: "Implement a professional development program that increases the effectiveness of faculty in order to equitize student achievement and build competencies related to meaningful assessment" (I20, I21).

In order to solicit additional feedback, the Steering Committee held several open forums (I22, I23, I24). Per the developed schedule, the writing teams worked in stages and in the following order: Standard I, Standard III, Standard IV, and Standard II. As they were completed, the writing teams presented drafts of their work to participatory governance bodies who reviewed their work for integrity and completeness. Any feedback received was reviewed and, where necessary, incorporated into the draft documents. The Quality Focus Essay followed a slightly different schedule and was written by the Chairs of the Educational Effectiveness Committee and Educational Director for Planning and Organizational Development. The College used a "One Voice Editor" to help combine the Standards and QFE drafts into a single, cohesive document.

In April 2019, a "90% Draft" was submitted to the four Senates for final review. The "90% Draft" was adopted by the Sierra College Strategic Council on May 10, 2019. The final version of the ISER was submitted to the Board of Trustees for first review on June 11, 2019 and accepted for submission on July 9, 2019.

## Accreditation Steering Committee (Standard Lead)

Erik Cooper (I) Erik Skinner (III) Christy Karau (II)

Mandy Davies Andrea Neptune Lucas Moosman (II)

Rebecca Bocchicchio Christine Yorde Jene Hallam (IV)

Ryan Davis Vernon Martin (IV) Susan Lucyga (QFE)

## Writing Teams and Contributors (Standard)

Barry Abrams (I) Beth Ervin (II) Nooria Munir (IV)

Judy Ahlquist (III) Linda Fisher (III) Brook Oliver (II)

Jennifer Alford (III) Anne Fleischmann (IV) Stephanie Ortiz (II)

Matt Archer (IV) Bobby Gosal (II) Carol Pepper-Kittredge (II)

Steven Baissa (II) Greg Harnage (I) Sabrina Pape (II)

Kim Bateman (II) Don Harris (I) Tina Sixt (II)

Tom Benton (III) Laura Harris (I) Jason Sumilhig (II)

Kacey Bullock (II) Sonia Klenner (II) Soni Verma (IV)

Deirdre Campbell (II) Jennie Longmire (II) Corrine Vieira (II)

Suzanne Davenport (II) Shawna Martinez (III) Maria Von Der Ahe (II)

Anne Diamond (II) Karen McGuire (II) Shannon Wells (II)

Laura Doty (III) Melody Meier (II) Linda Williams (II)

Stacey Carroll (IV) Andre Mendoza (II) Bev Yoha (III)

Julie Colombo (I) Gail Modder (II)

## One Voice Editor

Tamal Wonnell