









Shasta-Tehama-Trinity Joint Community College District

Institutional Self-Evaluation Report

of Educational Quality and Institutional Effectiveness in Support of Reaffirmation of Accreditation

2017-2018



ORGANIZATION OF THE SELF-EVALUATION PROCESS

The Accreditation Steering Committee began the Self-Evaluation process in Fall 2015. The Committee appointed teams to begin exploring the accreditation standards with the charge of gathering evidence and looking for significant gaps. These teams periodically reported to the Accreditation Steering Committee throughout the 2015-2016 academic year as they informally gathered information. At the end of the academic year, the teams submitted notes they had collected and evidence files to the Vice President of Instruction and the Accreditation Liaison Officer (ALO).

In Fall 2016, under the guidance of the Accreditation Steering Committee, the District formed groups in a committee/subcommittee structure to begin the formal process of writing the self-evaluation report. Each subgroup organized its work and periodically reported back to the ALO on progress. Structure of the self-evaluation teams follow:

Standard I Committee – Will Breitbach, Dean of Library Services and Educational Technology

- Standard I.A subcommittee
 - o Cathy Anderson, President of Academic Senate
 - Supported by: Dr. Ramon Tello, Philosophy Instructor; Courtney Vigna, Executive Assistant to the VP of Instruction; Jenna Barry Highfield, Research Analyst
- Standard I.B subcommittee
 - William Breitbach, Dean of Library Services and Educational Technology and Dr. Sharon Brisolara, Associate Dean of Access and Equity
 - Supported by: Paul Burwick, Online Learning Instructional Technician; Myriam Kalmogho, Categorical Program Director; Dr. Wade Stewart, Human Services Instructor
- Standard I.C subcommittee

- William Breitbach, Dean of Library Services and Educational Technology
- Supported by: Jenna Barry Highfield, Research Analyst; Brianne Brichacek, Online Learning Instructional Technician

Standard II Committee – Dr. Frank Nigro, Assistant Superintendent/Vice President of Instruction

- Standard II.A subcommittee
 - Dr. Frank Nigro, Assistant Superintendent/Vice President of Instruction
 - Supported by: Sue Loring, Counselor;
 Rochelle Morris, Student Success
 Facilitator; Cindy Silva, Admissions and
 Records Technician II; Terry Turner,
 Speech Instructor; Leimone Waite,
 Horticulture Instructor
- Standard II.B subcommittee
 - o Carolyn Singh, Librarian
 - Supported by: Teresa Doyle, Associate
 Dean of Student Learning; Carey
 Castagnoli, Library Information
 Technician; Cheryl Cruse, Librarian
- Standard II.C subcommittee
 - o Dr. Tim Johnston, Associate Vice President of Student Services
 - Supported by: Michelle Fairchild, Administrative Secretary I (Enrollment Services); Rob McCandless, Counselor; Leann Williams, Employment Development Services Technician

Standard III Committee – Morris Rodrigue, Assistant Superintendent/Vice President of Administrative Services

- Standard III.A subcommittee
 - Laura Benson, Associate Vice President of Human Resources and Amy Westlund, Executive Assistant to the Associate Vice President of Human Resources
 - o Supported by: Dr. Sara McCurry, English Instructor; Veronica Chaves, Hourly

Faculty Technician; Craig Carmena, Administration of Justice Instructor

• Standard III.B subcommittee

- Morris Rodrigue, Assistant Superintendent/Vice President of Administrative Services
- Supported by: Craig Carmena, Administration of Justice Instructor; Pat McNamara, Grounds Foreperson

• Standard III.C subcommittee

- James Crandall, Director of Information Technology and John Lutkemeier, Supervisor of Technology Support
- o Supported Delores by: Servidio, Administrative Secretary Paul II; Burwick, Online Learning Instruction Technician; Brianne Brichacek, Online Learning Instructional Technician; Dhabih Hendershot. Computer **Information Systems Instructor**

Standard III.D subcommittee

- Morris Rodrigue, Assistant Superintendent/Vice President of Administrative Services and Jill Ault, Comptroller
- Supported by: Tom Masulis, Physics Instructor; Lynda Little, Senior District Accounting Technician; Sara Holmes, Administrative Secretary

Standard IV Committee

- Theresa Markword, Director of Innovation and Special Projects
- Supported by: Dr. Rob Lydon, Trustee;
 Dr. Joe Wyse, President/Superintendent;
 Darren Gurney, Office Administration
 Instructor; Emily Groth, Student Trustee

Once the draft of the Standards sections of the self-evaluation was complete, the Accreditation Steering Committee gave feedback to lead authors and edits were made accordingly. Upon submission of the drafts, Courtney Vigna, Iva Weidenkeller, Brianne Brichacek, and Paul Burwick served as Technical Editors. Once the first draft was complete, further input was

sought through the participatory governance structure. Representatives from the committees and councils noted below were formally asked to provide feedback.

Participatory Governance Feedback Structure

- Standard I A: College Council, Academic Senate
- Standard I B: College Council, Academic Senate, SLO Committee
- Standard I C: College Council, Instructional Council, Student Services Council
- Standard II A: College Council Academic Senate, SLO Committee, Curriculum Committee, Instructional Council, Distance Education Committee
- Standard II B-C: College Council, Student Services Council
- Standard III A: College Council, Faculty and Staff Diversity Committee
- Standard III B: College Council, Facilities Planning Committee
- Standard III C: College Council, Technology Planning Committee, Distance Education Committee
- Standard III D: College Council, Budget Committee
- Standard IV A: Academic Senate, College Council, Board of Trustees
- Standard IV B-C: College Council, Board of Trustees

To make the feedback process as inclusive as possible, a draft of the document was posted online and campus-wide feedback was sought through two open forums. An online form was provided so individuals who could not attend the forums would be able to provide feedback. Several requests for feedback were made to the entire campus community. The Lead Editor, Dr. Kate Mahar, Dean of Institutional Effectiveness, reviewed the entire work for consistency and voice.