

Institutional Self-Evaluation Report

C. Organization of the Self-Evaluation Process

Broad participation from across all constituent groups was included in the development of the Moorpark College ISER. ISER teams were developed at both the college and district levels that included input from all constituent groups. An ISER Core Team was formed to oversee the development of the ISER and facilitate discussions between the college and district components of the report, meeting at least monthly and more often as needed. The ISER Core Team membership is summarized in Table 20.

Table 20: ISER Core Team Members

Member	Position
Mary Rees / Dr. John Forbes	Vice President of Academic Affairs & ALO
Dr. Priscilla Mora	Dean of Student Learning
Oleg Bespalov	Dean of Institutional Effectiveness
Linda Resendiz	Classified Senate President
Dr. Erik Reese	Academic Senate President

Discussions and planning for the ISER started in Spring 2021. All were invited to the initial ISER training with Dr. Catherine Webb on Friday Mar 19, 2021 (C.01). Additional training for the ISER was held by the ISER Core Team members during a professional development (PD) event on August 12, 2021 as part of PD activities before the start of the Fall semester. Participants at that PD event were encouraged to sign up to participate in writing teams. Participation in standards work was invited in various venues to encourage broad participation, such as Associated Students, Classified Senate, Academic Senate, and the Committee on Accreditation and Planning – Education (EdCAP). The sign-up sheet for writing teams reflected participation from more than 60 contributors representing all constituent groups. Table 21 summarizes the writing team sign-up sheet with the first member in italics being the lead for that standard and grey shading representing standards led by the District.

Table 21: Writing Teams

Standard	Members
I.A Mission	Dr. Priscilla Mora, Dr. Erik Reese
I.B Assuring Academic Quality and Institutional Effectiveness	Oleg Bespalov, Phil Abramoff, Dr. Loay Alnaji, Dr. Josepha Baca, Howard Davis, Dr. Scarlet Relle
I.C Institutional Integrity	Monica Garcia, Erika Lizée, Dr. Marnie Melendez, Cynthia Osuna, Linda Resendiz
II.A Instructional Programs	Dr. Erik Reese, Dr. Lee Ballestero, Ruth Bennington, Nicole Block, Dr. Carol Higashida, Rolland Petrello, Dani Vieira
II.B Library and Learning Support Services	Daniella Kaprelian, Deb Brackley, Beth Gillis-Smith, Emmanuel Guerrero, David Katz, Rena Petrello, Dr. Tracy Tennenhouse

II.C Student Support Services	Dr. Khushnur Dadabhoy, Dave Anter, Allison Case Barton, Johnny Conley, Jodi Dickey, Sergio Gonzalez, Johanna Pimentel, Claudia Sitlington
III.A Human Resources	Laura Barroso, Gloria Banuelos, Andrea Ingley, Dr. Jennifer Kalfsbeek-Goetz, Amparo Medina, Dr. Priscilla Mora, Dr. Lisa Putnam
III.B Physical Resources	Dr. Jennifer Clark, Robert Cabral, John Sinutko
III.C Technology Resources	Dan Watkins, Michael Alexander, Dr. Jennifer Clark, Alexander Fredell, Grant Jones, Dr. Luis Gonzalez, Dan McMichael
III.D Financial Resources	Dr. David El Fattal, Cathy Bojorquez, Robert Cabral, Dr. Jennifer Clark, Emily Day, Laura Galvan, Chris Renbarger, James Zavas
IV.A Decision-Making Roles and Processes	Dr. Erik Reese, Dr. Priscilla Mora, Linda Resendiz
IV.B Chief Executive Officer	Dr. Julius Sokenu, Dr. Erik Reese
IV.C Governing Board	Patti Blair, Dr. Dan Clark, Amy Edwards, Alexander Fredell, Amparo Medina, Dr. Priscilla Mora, Dr. Erik Reese, Linda Resendiz, Sebastian Szczebiot
IV.D Multi-College Districts or Systems	<i>Dr. Cynthia Herrera</i> , David Casas, Dan Clark, Dr. Amy Edwards, Amparo Medina, Dr. Priscilla Mora, Mary Rees, Dr. Erik Reese

Once formed in early Fall 2021, the writing teams drafted initial standards. These same venues were used to share the initial ISER draft and solicit input throughout Spring 2022. Additional feedback and input were gathered at the Strategic Planning Retreat on April 22, 2022 with attendees from all areas of the campus (C.02). Throughout the process, all employees had access to the ISER standards and evidence and were able to provide additional updates and comments. A summary timeline of the ISER development is shown in Table 22.

Work on the district-related standards (III.A, III.C, III.D, IV.C, and IV.D) was started summer 2021 through the District Council on Accreditation and Planning (DCAP). Membership includes classified, faculty, and administrators from all the three colleges in the district as well as district administrators and classified. Feedback on district standards was also solicited from college constituents during the Spring 2022 semester along with the college standards as described above.

Table 22: ISER Summary Timeline

Session	Activity
Spring 2021	Initial ISER organizational framework and training
Summer 2021	 Formation of district writing teams Writing teams worked on standards III.A, III.C, III.D, IV.C, and IV.D ISER Core Team developed initial drafts for standard I.A
Fall 2021	 Formation of college writing teams Writing teams developed initial drafts for standards I.B, I.C, II.A, II.B, II.C, III.B, IV.A, and IV.B
Spring 2022	Share standards and solicit input from various groups, including Associated Students, Senates, and standing committees

Summer 2022	 Incorporation of suggestions and finalization of standards Introductory sections drafted Complete ISER ready for final review in Fall 	
Fall 2022	 Participatory governance review (Associated Students, Classified Senate, and Academic Senate) Board of Trustees review Submission by Dec 15, 2022 	

Tables 23 and 24 show representative examples of membership of standard writing teams for college and district teams, respectively. The first listed member in italics is the team lead. These cross functional teams developed drafts to be vetted by the college. District related standards are to be adopted by all three colleges in the district, with some modification for college-specific details.

Table 23: Standard II.B Writing Team

Member	Position
Danielle Kaprelian	Team Lead; Librarian
Deb Brackley	Tutoring and Supplemental Support Supervisor
Emmanuel Guerrero	Tutorial Services Specialist
Beth Gillis-Smith	English Faculty & Teaching and Learning Center
Dr. Tracy Tennenhouse	English Faculty & Teaching and Learning Center
Rena Petrello	Math Faculty & Teaching and Learning Center
David Katz	Student

Table 24: Standard IV.C Writing Team

Member	Position
Patti Blair	Team Lead; Director of Public Affairs and Marketing
Dr. Priscilla Mora	Dean, Moorpark College
Linda Resendiz	Classified Senate President, Moorpark College
Amparo Martinez	Classified Senate President, Oxnard College
Sebastian Szczebiot	Classified Senate President, Ventura College
Alexander "Rock" Fredell	Classified Senate President, District Administrative Center
Dr. Erik Reese	Academic Senate President, Moorpark College
Dr. Amy Edwards	Academic Senate President, Oxnard College
Dr. Dan Clark	Academic Senate President, Ventura College

Students, classified professionals, administrators, and faculty participated at every stage in our inclusive process for the development of the Moorpark College ISER. The Moorpark College ISER represents an incredible amount of work by a very large number of people working collaboratively at the college and district.

Evidence

C.01 ACCJC ISER Training C.02 Strategic Planning Retreat Agenda