

Institutional Self-Evaluation Report in Support of an Application for Reaffirmation of Accreditation

Submitted by

Monterey Peninsula College

980 Fremont Street Monterey, CA 93940

to

Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges Western Association of Schools and Colleges

December 2022

PART C - Organization of the Self-Evaluation Process

MPC's accreditation planning process began in the 2020-2021 academic year under the leadership of the Dean of Planning, Research, and Institutional Effectiveness (PRIE), who served as the College's Accreditation Liaison Officer (ALO). In May 2021, the Dean of PRIE invited ACCJC staff to provide training to the College's Board of Trustees on the topic of accreditation and Governing Board roles and responsibilities. The College's PRIE Committee was designated to serve as the standing College committee charged with assisting the ALO with the development of the Institutional Self-Evaluation Report (ISER).

Following the Dean of PRIE's retirement in June 2021, the Superintendent/President designated the Vice President of Academic Affairs (VPAA) as the College's new ALO. The VPAA attended the ACCJC ALO orientation in June 2021 and began to work with the Superintendent/President to establish a formal team structure for the development of the College's ISER. The structure consisted of Standards writing teams organized around the ACCJC Standards. The writing team for each of the Standards consists of a Standard lead to provide support and guidance; lead writer(s) for each of the subsections within the main Standard; and a group of "area experts," who can provide information or content support for the lead writers.

Recognizing the importance of engaging broad participation from College stakeholders, the Superintendent/President and ALO initiated a call for volunteers from across the College to serve as lead writers in the development of the first draft of the ISER. Volunteers were assigned to teams and individual Standards, and members of the President's Cabinet were assigned as leads to support the efforts of each writing team.

The Superintendent/President and ALO provided regular updates to College participatory governance committees and the Board of Trustees as well as to the public through open College forums during the fall 2021, spring 2022, and fall 2022 semesters leading up to the completion of the ISER. The College established a Standards crosswalk to identify individuals and College groups closely aligned with each Standard to help guide review by area experts and appropriate stakeholders.

ISER Development/Production Team

- Mark Zacovic, Ph.D., Interim Superintendent/President
- Shawn Anderson, Assistant to the President
- Alexis Bollin, Administrative Assistant (Academic Affairs)
- Kristin Darken, Director of Marketing
- Jeannie Kim-McPherson, English Faculty/Editor
- Jon Knolle, Ed.D., Vice President of Academic Affairs (VPAA)/ Accreditation Liaison Officer (ALO)
- Rosaleen Ryan, Ph.D., Dean of Planning, Research, and Institutional Effectiveness

ISER Writing Teams

Standard	Writing Team
I.A	 David Martin, Ed.D., former Superintendent/President (former Lead) Diana Baltazar, Administrative Assistant (Ready Set Transfer Program) Shawn Anderson, Assistant to the President
I.B	 Rosaleen Ryan, Ph.D., Dean of PRIE (Lead) Heather Craig, Ph.D., Anatomy/Biology Faculty Keith Eubanks, SLO Coordinator/English Faculty Adria Gerard, Academic Senate President/English Faculty Vanessa Lord, Nutrition Faculty Lindsay Peelman, Ed.D., Business/Work Experience Faculty
I.C	 Jon Knolle, Ed.D., Vice President of Academic Affairs (VPAA) (Lead) Diana Baltazar, Administrative Assistant (Ready Set Transfer Program) Keith Eubanks, SLO Coordinator/English Faculty Adria Gerard, Academic Senate President/English Faculty Vanessa Lord, Nutrition Faculty Gamble Madsen, Ph.D., Curriculum Advisory Committee Chair/Art History Faculty Erik McDonald, Academic Affairs CTE Curriculum Coordinator Lindsay Peelman, Ed.D., Business/Work Experience Faculty Jennifer Taylor, Administrative Assistant (Library, Learning Resources, and Online Education) Juanita Vasquez, Categorical Services Coordinator
II.A	 Jon Knolle, Ed.D, Vice President of Academic Affairs (VPAA) (Lead) Diane Boynton, Dean of Instruction - Liberal Arts Judy Cutting, Dean of Instruction - Career Education & Public Safety Heather Craig, Ph.D., Anatomy/Biology Faculty Keith Eubanks, SLO Coordinator/English Faculty Adria Gerard, Academic Senate President/English Faculty Vanessa Lord, Nutrition Faculty Gamble Madsen, Ph.D., Curriculum Advisory Committee Chair/Art History Faculty Rushia Turner, Ph.D., Chemistry Faculty Vincent van Joolen, Ph.D., Dean of Instruction - STEM
II.B	 Jeff Sundquist, Dean of Instruction - Library, Learning Resources, and Online Education (Lead) Elisabeth Thomas, Access and Public Services Librarian Rowan Austin, Administrative Assistant (PRIE Office)
II.C	 Larry Walker, Vice President of Student Services (VPSS) (Lead) Wendy Bates, Dean of Student Services - Athletics LaKisha Bradley, Dean of Student Services - Marina Nicole Dunne, Ed.D., Director of Admissions & Records

	 Diego Espinoza, former Director, Hispanic Serving Institutions Kelly Fletes, Ed.D., Dean of Student Services - Monterey Jennyfer Gutierrez, Administrative Assistant (VPSS Office) Eric Ogata, EOPS Counselor/Coordinator Julie Osborne, Student Activities Coordinator Jeff Procive, Director, Early Childhood Education Center Juanita Vasquez, Categorical Services Coordinator
III.A	 David Betts, Vice President of Human Resources (VPHR)/Chief Human Resources Officer (CHRO) (Lead) Lauren Blanchard, Professional Development Coordinator/Political Science Faculty Adria Gerard, Academic Senate President/English Faculty Heather Craig, Ph.D., Anatomy/Biology Faculty Rushia Turner, Ph.D., Chemistry Faculty
III.B	 Steve Haigler, Vice President of Administrative Services (VPAS) (Lead) Suzanne Ammons, Administrative Assistant (VPAS) David Martin, Ed.D., former Superintendent/President
III.C	 Mike Midkiff, Director of Information Services (Lead) Steve Haigler, Vice President of Administrative Services (VPAS) Jon Knolle, Ed.D., Vice President of Academic Affairs (VPAA) David Martin, Ed.D., former Superintendent/President Erik McDonald, Academic Affairs CTE Curriculum Coordinator Jeff Sundquist, Dean of Instruction - Library, Learning Resources, and Online Education
III.D	 Steve Haigler, Vice President of Administrative Services (VPAS) Kevin Haskin, Purchasing Coordinator Jeannie Kim-McPherson, English Faculty Rebecca Michael, Vice President of Advancement (VPAD) Jon Knolle, Ed.D., Vice President of Academic Affairs (VPAA)
IV.A	 David Martin, Ed.D., former Superintendent/President (former Lead) Jeannie Kim-McPherson, English Faculty
IV.B	 Mark Zacovic, Ph.D., Interim Superintendent/President (Lead) David Martin, Ed.D., former Superintendent/President (former Lead) Shawn Anderson, Assistant to the President Eric Maximoff, Facilities Specialist Jon Knolle, Ed.D., Vice President of Academic Affairs (VPAA)
IV.C	 Shawn Anderson, Assistant to the President (Lead) Lindsay Peelman, Ed.D., Business/Work Experience Faculty Jennifer Taylor, Administrative Assistant (Library, Learning Resources, and Online Education)